No Need to Drop Out: Colorado Mountain College to Offer Four Year Degrees in Several Ski Towns

Next Up

At the end of last month, Colorado Governor Bill Ritter signed a bill into law that will let Colorado Mountain College, a community college with 11 campuses across the state's high country, to offer five different four-year bachelor's degrees. CMC's campus include Steamboat, Aspen, Breckenridge, Glenwood Springs, Leadville, Dillon and Edwards. The first courses that will count toward the degrees start in in 2011.

From Colorado State Senator Dan Gibbs: "When you look at a geographical area the size of Maryland and there's not one institution where you can get a four-year degree, that's just not right...I have friends in Summit and Eagle counties who moved to the state to go to college, maybe finished two years of school, fell in love with the mountains, got a job as a liftie, and never finished school -- but always wanted to...Now they can."

via ESPN

A related ski and snowboard documentary made by montana state university film students about balancing snow sports and school work:

Shreducation from Daniel Gibeau on Vimeo.

Next Story

TGR Tested: Faction Dictator 3.0