News: Torstein Horgmo And Jamie Anderson Win Killington Winter Dew Tour Snowboard Slopestyle

Next Up

January 23, 2011

Killington, Vermont (Winter Dew Tour) – Norway’s Torstein Horgmo and Jamie Anderson of South Lake Tahoe, Calif., each won their second consecutive snowboard slopestyle final today, making them undefeated in the men and women’s disciplines respectively on the 2010-11 season. Horgmo and Anderson’s wins further secure them in the lead positions in overall Tour rankings and puts them neck-and-neck with Louie Vito for Toyota Athlete of the Year.

Horgmo, 23, secured the top score of the day during his first run which included a cab 270 to fakie, switch blunt 270 on to switch tailslide 270 out on the up rail, switch frontside double cork 10, switch back 12 and a double cork for a score of 95.25. Breckenridge, Colorado’s Eric Willett, 23, placed second with a 92.50 and Canada’s Mark Mcmorris, 17, rounded out the podium in third with a 90.50.

“It feels really good to win today, and I love Vermont,” said Torstein. “I’m looking forward to the Championships in Utah. They should definitely be fun.”

During the last run of the women’s snowboard slopestyle final, defending Dew Cup champion Anderson, 20, threw out the best run of the competition with tricks including a blunt on the rail, fifty-fifty frontboard, boardslide switch out and a front 3 mute to give her a score of 91.25. Canada’s Spencer O’Brien, 22, placed second with an 87.25 and New Zealand’s Rebecca Torr, 20, followed behind in third with a 74.75, making her second overall in Winter Dew Tour rankings.

“I feel great! I’m really excited to go back to Snowbasin; that resort was beautiful,” said Anderson. “This event has been great, and I’m happy to end it with a win. I feel confident heading into the final stop.”

Approximately 29,000 people experienced the Winter Dew Tour this weekend at Killington Resort in Killington, Vt., making it the highest attended event at a new host resort. The four-day competition was the second of three stops on the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour featuring men and women’s snowboarding and freeskiing disciplines. The Tour will conclude with the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah February 10 – 13, 2011, where the year-end Dew Cup champions and the Toyota Athlete of the Year will be crowned.

Winter Dew Tour at Killington
Sunday, January 23, 2011
Killington, Vt. – Killington Resort

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle - Finals

1. Torstein Horgmo, Norway, 95.25. 2. Eric Willett, Breckenridge, Colo., 92.50. 3. Mark Mcmorris, Canada, 90.50. 4. Tyler Flanagan, Mammoth Lakes, Calif., 82.50. 5. Brandon Reis, Peterborough, N.H., 68.00. 6. Jeremy Thompson, Elka Park, N.Y., 65.00. 7. Sondre Tiller, Norway, 58.25. 8. Sebastien Toutant, Canada, 56.75. 9. Sage Kotsenburg, Park City, Utah, 53.25. 10. Tim Humphreys, Basking Ridge, N.J., 52.00. 11. Chas Guldemond, Reno Tahoe, N.V. 12. Nick Julius, Sterling, Mass., DNS.

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle – Tour Rankings

1. Torstein Horgmo, 200. 2.Mark Mcmorris, 178. 3.Tyler Flanagan, 164. 4. Eric Willett, 162. 5. Jeremy Thompson, 152. 6. Chas Buldemond, 140. 7. Sebastien Toutant, 128. 8. Brandon Reis, 119. 9. Sage Kotsenburg, 116. 10. Aleksander Ostreng, 107.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle - Finals

1.Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 91.25. 2. Spencer O’Brien, Canada, 87.25. 3. Rebecca Torr, New Zealand, 74.75. 4. Megan Ginter, Stevens Pass, Wash., 71.25. 5. Madison Blackley, Park City, Utah, 54.25. 6. Nicki Slechta, Los Angeles, Calif., 21.50.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle – Tour Rankings

1. Jamie Anderson, 200. 2. Rebecca Torr, 164. 3. Megan Ginter, 140. 4. Jordie Karlinski, 140. 5. Nicki Slechta, 136. 6. Madison Blackley, 132. 7. Molly Wilson, 109. 8. Spencer O’Brien, 92. 9. Charlotte Van Gils, 92. 10. Cheryl Maas, 86.

Next Story

TGR Tested: Faction Dictator 3.0